KYOTERA. The Democratic Party candidate, Ms Robina Ssentongo has been declared the duly elected Woman Member of Parliament for the newly created Kyotera District.
Ms Ssentongo was declared winner by Kyotera District Returning Officer Leticia Nantabo at about 4:15am on Friday after polling for 21,731 votes out of the 43,001 valid votes cast.

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party flag bearer Rachael Nakitende came second after garnering 15,511 votes, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) candidate Phirista Nassali Nakato garnered 2,224 votes while independents Cissy Nantongo and Joweria Nabbaale polled 3,272 and 266 votes respectively.

The district chairperson’s seat was however taken by NRM’s Patrick Kintu Kisekulo after trouncing four other candidates.
Kisekulo got 19,481 votes, DP’s Tom Darlington Balloja polled 10,080 votes while independent candidates; Charles Lubega Zziridamu ,Gerald Ssekwe and Anthony Mugerwa got 10,692, 233 and 476 votes respectively .


Leave a Comment